The Best Of Me

The Best Of Me

Today was quite a trying day.

First thing this morning, before I even got to work, I was groped by a teenager on the bus. Like, legit hand-on-boob groped. It happened as I was getting off the bus Downtown and the kid just looked at me and didn’t apologize or anything and I was so stunned that I had no choice but to keep moving. There are a million things I thought to say and do while I was walking towards work, but that’s the thing about situations like this – you kind of become frozen in the moment. I don’t know if anyone else saw, but I certainly know no one stopped the kid and I doubt anyone else said anything to him. I normally wouldn’t think a thing like this would bother me (after all, it’s not like anyone else is touching my boobs these days), but it really did. I arrived at work in full rage-mode and wanted to hit something or tear something apart. In hindsight, I’m really dumb – we have a punching bag at work for these exact feelings, and I totally forgot about it. Duh.

Anyway, that set a bad tone for the day. The work day itself wasn’t all that bad, though. After work, I had to jump on a volunteer post-operation conference call that at times had me wanting to stab things, but it was fun texting friends about the call while we were on it together. But after the call, I knew I had work to do – my lawn was out of control and needed to be tamed.

The lawn-mowing doesn’t bother me so much anymore; it’s the weed-wacking that kills me. I got through over half of the lawn before I had to restring, so that was good. I didn’t have an issue getting the spool cap off the first time, and when I replaced it, I made sure to barely twist it on. And yet, it somehow tightened up and I struggled with it the next time I needed to restring. I ended up throwing the weedwacker, hitting it against my steps, trying to pry the cap open with a knife, etc. Nothing worked. I threw it one last time and walked away for five minutes. I came back and decided I had one last struggle in me, and wouldn’t you know, that stupid cap came off. I played this frustration game over and over for nearly an hour. Finally, I finished, and I was completely covered in sweat, dirt, grass, and probably some bugs. Thank goodness for showers.

So while it wasn’t the worst day, I let a teenager and a weedwacker get the best of me. Here’s hoping tomorrow contains less boobs, less landscaping, and more fun.

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Best Of Me

  1. Nothing Personal says:

    That really happened? I think if I would have witnessed that, I would have groped his scrotum with my left foot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

