The New Pittsburgh Left

The New Pittsburgh Left

The Pittsburgh Left, for those of you not from these parts, is a phenomenon where a driver at a red light jumps the light just a wee bit in order to make a left-hand turn. It’s kind of an expected thing round here, and the people behind you will lay on their horns if you’re too chicken to do it.

Turns out there’s a new Pittsburgh Left in town, and it’s the left you’re not allowed to make at all.

My house sits on a road just off of a main road in the area, and true to form, construction season is in full swing. Road crews have made minor repairs to the main road over the past nine years I’ve lived here, but I’ve never seen them shut down such a large portion of the road before. Normally I turn left onto the main road in the morning, and then left again when I head home. Now there’s no way I can go left onto the road in either direction, from any side street, so I’m kind of lost and confused about how I’m supposed to get to work on time. If I turn right and go down the road a ways until I reach a point where I can make a u-turn, I’ll either be late, pulled over, or killed. If I keep going right and don’t turn, I end up driving to the park-n-ride… which is an option, but it doesn’t seem right that I can’t take my regular local bus without driving 15-20 minutes to my old stop. So now I’m stuck. Literally. And I have no idea what to do with myself.

A local website informed me this will be going on for 6-8 weeks… which really probably means 12-15 weeks. Maybe it’s time to move. 😦

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

