Five Things Friday: 07/28/17 Edition

IMG_4107.JPG

Ohhh, ramen. It’s been a long time. I was totally fine living without you, until my friend A kept sending me pictures of you from a place in Dallas and then I suddenly couldn’t stop thinking of you. This is how we’ve come to meet again. Blame A. Blame Dallas. Blame my tastebuds, cause you are friggin delicious.

Moving on…

  1. Currently Reading: I finished The Impossible Fortress last Friday and eventually moved on to Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. I know, I’m way late on jumping on the Miss Peregrine train, but I swear this book has been checked out at the library for nearly every day of the last seven years. Finally, it’s mine. I’ve had it only a few days and I’m already more than halfway through it. I also like it a lot – I love books that have an easy style about them. I’ve read enough sophisticated books in my life; now is the time for fun books. Miss Peregrine checks off that box quite nicely.
  2. Currently Eating: Ramen, obviously. Otherwise, it’s been a fairly boring week, food-wise – lots of veggies, some meat, and the occasional slice of cheese. The ramen tonight really hit the spot, though. I didn’t realize how hungry I was until I was face-down in noodles – I normally only eat half of the bowl and take the rest home for leftovers; I think I downed 3/4 of the bowl tonight. I probably would’ve finished it, too, had I not wanted to savor the flavor another day. Mmmmmm.
  3. Currently Watching: I finally finished The Great British Baking Show’s season 3, and I’m taking a little break before I move on to the Master Class version of the show. Instead, I started watching Friends From College, and I really like it. I’ve had a little crush on Keegan-Michael Key since I’ve seen this sketch. (STILL makes me cry laughing every time I watch it.) It does remind me of How I Met Your Mother, and I’m not sure if that’s because of the creators, the format of the show, or the fact that Cobie Smulders is in it. In any case, I like it and I love that each episode is about a half hour long. Fast shows for the win!
  4. Currently Loving: I’m getting in deep with the volunteer stuff these days, but to be honest, it’s because I’m hoping at some point it’ll no longer be volunteer and instead be my job. I’ve participated in what feels like a million training sessions lately – not just for Disasters (my main love), but also for Bio-Med. Today alone I took three training classes, and two of them were an hour and a half long. The other one, I’ve been taking intensive notes on the content, so it’s taking me way longer than the hour it’s supposed to take. I’m learning so much, though, and I love it.

    I’m not sure if it’s something I’m loving or something that I’m terrified about, but I applied for my first-ever out-of-state job yesterday… and I might finish up another application when I click Publish on this post. I love Pittsburgh a lot, but there are some things I want to do in the Dallas area, and there are some people (maybe one in particular) who I want to get back to. The odds of me even getting an HR screening call are slim to none (“a snowball’s chance” is what I’ve been telling people), but it’s worth a shot. And if I don’t even get the initial call, no harm, no foul. But I’ve got to at least try…

  5. Currently Anticipating: It’s almost all volunteer stuff.

    I work tomorrow night and we’re planning on a large event with just the two of us behind the bar. Since it’s such a large event, we’re expecting to be run ragged, but also, we’re hoping to make a lot of money. If things work out the way I hope they do, job-wise, I’m going to potentially need some money for relocation expenses. 😉

    Sunday I have nothing planned, except being on-call in the evening. Hooray for some downtime! But I’ll probably be taking more training online, preparing for what the week holds…

    Speaking of which, I’m off work Monday through Wednesday! The reason being that I’ve been invited to attend Disaster Program Manager training in our Pittsburgh office, which is funny because that’s the job I’m trying for in Dallas. 🙂 It’s going to be me with a bunch of current staff people and maybe a few other volunteers thrown in for color, and the training is being hosted by regional and divisional staff. If nothing else, I’ll learn a lot and get some face-time with divisional folks (regional is old news these days). Clearly, I don’t want to be unprepared, so I’m taking every training course I can find before the training starts on Monday. I want to know the answers to all the things. When I told someone at work that I was excited to have Monday through Wednesday off and that I was going to be sitting in a conference room taking training all day, he looked at me like I had four heads and mumbled something about how there’s something wrong with me to want to essentially be in school on my day off. 🙂 Not surprisingly, this is exactly how I was as a kid, too – I spent my summers hanging out with my teachers and helping them get their classrooms ready and reviewing lesson plans. Once a nerd, always a nerd!

    Wednesday after our training course ends, I tentatively have a regional meeting I need to attend. With any luck, we’ll be getting a ton of stuff done; we’re in the beginning stages of a major process overhaul.

    Thursday is our Team Leader meeting, which is great except I think based on an email I got today, I’m leading it. The whole thing. Eeek. No one wants to travel to the chapter just to hear me talk for two hours. We might need to revisit our agenda Monday, Tuesday, or Wednesday…

    And then Friday, well, it’ll be Friday again. Hooray.

 

So yep, I’m pretty excited about the week ahead – only two days of work, the majority of my time will be spent doing volunteer-related stuff that might someday turn into job-related stuff (or maybe not), and hopefully I’ll get to make some money. Lots of good stuff to look forward to.

Happy Friday, y’all. Have a great weekend!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

