What’s In A Name?

What's In A Name?

So much for doing nothing today!

I got an email last night at work asking for volunteers to work at a shelter in a nearby county, so I responded that I’d be available. To my surprise, the point person was awake at 2:30 am and we had a nice conversation wherein she told me she’d call later in the morning to tell me if I was needed. Fast forward four hours to 6:47 am and for some reason I bolted upright in bed, ready to greet the day with less than four hours of sleep.

My point person wasn’t scheduled to call until 10, so I finished up some of the training I’ve been working on. When she did call, I learned that the scope of the operation had shifted, and I was scheduled to do damage assessment instead of sheltering. A-OK with me. 🙂

So I headed to Washington County, spoke with a lot of residents and some of the fire departments, and then was rerouted to help out in Fayette County. I mentioned to the other volunteer with me that I’d done a “Surrounding Counties Tour” just a couple years ago, and here I was getting a second tour through volunteering. We spent a lot of time in Fayette, some time in Westmoreland, and then made our way back to Washington before we headed back home to Allegheny. It was quite a whirlwind day, but it was good! And as a bonus, I got to introduce myself to some of the volunteers in those counties and we talked about some of the things I’m going to be working on with them over the next few months with my regional position. It was great to put faces to the names, and I’m excited about our future collaborations. ❤

Along the way through all of the different counties in western PA, I got to see some towns I’d never seen before. One in particular had an interesting sign for a plumber beside a stop light – just dial 1-866-POOP-911 for all of your plumbing needs. I laughed a little too hard at the phone number – POOP911 – so of course I had to take a picture of it. 🙂

By the time I made it back home, I was pooped (pun not intended). That wasn’t the end of my night, though, as another volunteer called me with a problem not long after I got home, and we spent nearly an hour discussing it. By the time we finished up and I’d gotten something to eat, it was time to get a shower and head to bed. And here we are now, after midnight and I’m just getting around to posting this.

Luckily, I get to sleep in tomorrow (since I clearly didn’t today), and then I get to spend the majority of my day at the volunteer chapter learning about disaster program management. It’s going to be an intense few days after an intense weekend, and I’m so excited for it! Bring on the learning! 😛

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

