You Gotta Regatta

You Gotta Regatta

Due to poor scheduling on my part (or maybe really awesome scheduling?), I had some time this afternoon between the volunteer meetings and work, so I walked to the Point from the volunteer office and got claustrophobic with the rest of Pittsburgh. I went to the Point to check out the activities for the Three Rivers Regatta, and the Red Bull Flugtag was going on at the same time. I’ve been to the Regatta before, but never the Flugtag. It was… interesting. I honestly don’t know how to describe what I saw; it was just about the weirdest thing ever. From what I could tell, teams of people had to engineer a watercraft that can fly, but they have to perform an outrageous dance before they’re allowed to launch their craft off of the barge and into the water. The dancing was, for lack of a better word, awkward, and the flying machines were more like submarines for the most part – many of them launched and fell directly into the water without much flight time at all. In the picture above, you can barely make out the flying machine – it’s between the barge and the blue Red Bull tent – but you can see it’s headed straight for the water. I did, however, get to see one craft that “flew” a few feet before landing… but it was the only exception I saw.

Eventually I made my way back to the volunteer office, which is where I am now – time to eat lunch and get changed so I can make some money tonight!

Later, kids!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

