There’s An App For That

There's An App For That

Today was, quite frankly, an absolute nightmare of a day. Without getting into specifics, every meeting and every email was a gigantic dumpster fire. I was triple-booked for most of the day, and the rare moments when I wasn’t pulled into meetings, I was putting out seemingly a million customer fires. To say it was an exhausting day really trivializes it, but I don’t know how else to describe it.

At one point in the day, my Regional manager for volunteer stuff got in touch with me and invited me to a meeting with him and someone from National first thing tomorrow morning, so that was one of the few highlights of the day. The other highlight is the screenshot above – I had a Regional implementation meeting after work tonight and they finally released the responder mobile app they’ve been touting for a few months. I downloaded it and started playing with it while I was sitting on the call. It’s not super-fancy – it just has my personal disaster action team schedule in it and any events that are assigned to me – but I’m excited about it nonetheless. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve forgotten an address on the way to a client’s home, or one of my people has done the same thing while I’ve been the supervisor – this will cut down on all those panicky “oh no, is the house number 382 or 832?” phone calls and give our responders more visibility into the different events. I can’t take any credit for it, other than being probably the first person in our chapter (and likely our region) to download it, but I’m jazzed about it nonetheless.

Here’s hoping this call with National is informative tomorrow morning, and that it sets a good tone for the rest of the day. I don’t think I can handle another day like today quite so soon.

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

