Hot In Cleveland

Hot In Cleveland

I’ve done quite a bit of running around in the past 24 hours or so! From traveling to Butler to go to the Farm Show last night, to driving back before bed, to driving to and from Cleveland today, I’ve put a lot of miles on my little Mini.

I wasn’t totally sure what I wanted to do with my unexpected Saturday off, but while I was with my parents last night, we were talking about Ohio and I tentatively decided that was my frontrunner option. I got up early and started driving, and it took all my strength not to keep going straight on the parkway to go to Coraopolis to install smoke alarms – a lot of my friends were there today, and I spent part of my day suffering from FOMO. Instead, though, I veered off to go to Cleveland and had a nice little day full of driving, terrible singing, shopping, drinking, and eating.

Ironically, my parents also decided to go to Cleveland for the day, so we met up briefly. Copycats. 🙂

I started off at World Market, walked over to a nice grocery store called Fresh Thyme (fun fact – looking them up just now, I see that we’re getting two of their stores in Pittsburgh in 2018!), then took myself for lunch at a taco joint. After tacos, I stopped at Costco, where I spent an unseemly amount of money. After a brief meetup with my parents, I continued on to Cleveland proper to hang out at Platform Brewing. While I was in Fresh Thyme, I saw that Platform makes a gose (sour beer) and they’re based in CLE, so I stopped in. In fact, they had two goses on tap, so I splurged and got a tasting flight and enjoyed it outside in their beer garden. While I was sitting there, a guy walked by with a shirt that read “I ❤ Pittsburgh girls,” so clearly I had to stop and talk with him and ask if I could take his picture. I wasn’t expecting to see that in Cleveland, so it was a fun conversation starter. 🙂

After I had beer, I stopped at the restaurant next door, The Plum Café and Kitchen, for a snack and also to try their cocktail of the day – an aperol spritz. I’d never tried one before, and I liked it a lot – it was light and refreshing and it didn’t make me too tipsy.

My next stop was ice cream, because in my opinion, no trip to Cleveland is complete without stopping at Mitchell’s. I discovered them a few years ago and I think about them every time I get ice cream – their flavors are stupid-good. I got a tasting duo of banana cream pie (I get that every time; it’s that amazing) and porter chocolate chunk. As expected, both were fantastic.

On my way out of town, I wasn’t super-hungry, but I knew I’d be starving when I got home and I didn’t have anything at home I wanted to eat… so I stopped for pho and summer rolls, knowing I’d only take a few bites and then take the rest home with me. The meal was so-so (we have better pho in Pittsburgh), but I’m eating the summer rolls as I type this and they’re pretty good.

I eventually got home in one piece a little after 10pm. It was a much-needed day away from everything, and I’m glad I got to let out some energy by singing horribly at the top of my lungs for 4.5 hours total. I won’t be able to talk tomorrow, but that’s for the best anyway. 😉

Hope you all had a great Saturday as well!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

